arc · contemporary · netgalley · romance

Book Review: How to Lose an Ex in Ten Days by Lottie Lucas (ARC)

Thanks to Netgalley and the publisher for providing me with an arc of this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.


Title: How to Lose an Ex in Ten Days

Author: Lottie Lucas

Expected publication: November 19th, 2020

Description:

For a fresh twist on How to Lose An Ex in Ten Days!
This funny, warm-hearted romantic comedy is perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella and Lindsey Kelk!

A family wedding, a new love, an ex with unfinished business…

With her sister’s wedding just days away and gorgeous Nate D’Angelo finally returning her long, lingering stares across the newsroom, things are slotting into place for journalist Belle Delphine. But suddenly her ex – the one who left her at the altar – is back and haunting her every step … literally!

With Ed on a supernatural mission from above Belle’s past clashes spectacularly with her present and everything starts going wrong. Now she’ll have just to ten days to lose her ex, save the wedding and win the man of her dreams!

RATING

Rating: 2 out of 5.

When I saw this book on Netgalley the premise seemed very interesting and something I usually enjoy in chick-lit. However, the description failed to mention maybe the most important thing that honestly shocked me but not in a good way.

This is a classic contemporary romance about a girl Belle, working a boring job she isn’t that into, falling for a guy she doesn’t have courage to ask out. The cause of her issues is what happened to her 6 years ago. Belle was left at the altar and has never recovered from it.

Just as things start going her way and she finally goes out with her handsome co-worker Nate, her ex-fiance suddenly shows up at her workplace and leaves her speechless.

Suddenly, all her feelings are back and although she hates him with passion, she still has unsolved feelings for him and wonders why he did what he did. But she finds out that he’s not back for nothing. There is unsolved business between them and it is nothing like you imagine it might be.

In the beginning this seemed like a classic chick-lit to me and although it wasn’t a unique storyline, it was alright. However, once I was hit with the biggest twist I wasn’t that impressed. I don’t want to spoil the details but if I knew it was about that, I never would’ve requested it. It is just not something for me.

I love writing rant reviews but I feel bad writing them for books that were given to me. That’s why I’m trying to make this more critical and less of a negative one. This just wasn’t my cup of tea.

The whole book wasn’t that interesting to me, to be honest and I found that most of the stuff happening didn’t make that much sense and also like it just wasn’t that important to the story.

The romance part was also off because the whole conflict between Nate and Belle happened because she didn’t tell him about her ex-fiance even though they have only been on ONE date. I didn’t know you were supposed to tell your date everything about yourself on your first date and that’s why the whole conflict seemed very intentional and silly. Also, falling in love after knowing each other for a few days is also very weird especially when the characters are 20 something years old and not twelve.

Honestly, I would’ve DNF’d it but I decided to finish it just for sake of finishing and writing a legitimate review.

All in all this seemed like a fun book but it just wasn’t the one for me. My tips for the author would be to put the main plot twist in the description so that the readers would know what this is actually about. There are many readers who like that theme in books, I am just not one of them.

Have any of you guys read this yet? If you have please leave your opinions down below.

Happy reading!

4 thoughts on “Book Review: How to Lose an Ex in Ten Days by Lottie Lucas (ARC)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s