2021 · new adult · romance

Book Review: Death by Laura Thalassa


Title: Death (The Four Horsemen #4)

Author: Laura Thalassa

Description:

They came to earth–Pestilence, War, Famine, Death–four horsemen riding their screaming steeds, racing to the corners of the world. Four horsemen with the power to destroy all of humanity. They came to earth, and they came to end us all.

He’s known by many names: Thanatos. Horseman. God’s last angel. And then, of course, there’s the one I’m all too familiar with—

Death.

The day Death comes to Lazarus Gaumond’s town and kills everyone in one fell swoop, the last thing he expects to see is a woman left alive and standing. But Lazarus has her own extraordinary gift: she cannot be killed—not by humans, not by the elements, not by Death himself.

She is the one soul Death doesn’t recognize. The one soul he cannot pry free from her flesh. Nor can he ignore the unsettling desire he has for her. Take her. He wants to, desperately. And the longer she tries to stop him from his killing spree, the stronger the desire becomes.

When Lazarus crosses paths with the three other horsemen, an unthinkable situation leads to a terrible deal: seduce Death, save the world. A hopeless task, made all the worse by the bad blood between her and Thanatos. But Death’s attraction to her is undeniable, and try though she might, Lazarus cannot stay away from that ancient, beautiful being and his dark embrace.

The end is here. Humankind is set to perish, and not even the horsemen can stop Death from fulfilling his final task.

Only Lazarus can.

RATING

Rating: 2 out of 5.

The question is: is this book really that bad or am I just used to finer things now? Because when the majority of the people rate this very high and I can barely get through it, something just doesn’t feel right.

I loved Laura Thalassa’s Pestilence when I read it a few years ago. A book about The Horseman of the Apocalypse? So freaking interesting and something fresh. However, miss girl really thought that because people loved her first book, she should just write the rest of the series totally the same, only changing up names and locations. Cause the plot, the characters and the motives are the same in every book.

Heres some ways she could’ve made the book better and different: Adding a gay main character, including POC main characters, changing up the geographical setting, have one of the characters not have a happily ever after and so on and so forth.

Next up, this is very insta-lovey. I understand that this is a romance, but when a person kills the entire town must your first thought be how beautiful he is. Come on girl, you’re better than that.

The first 150 pages were the most painful to read, and I was contemplating whether to just DNF this and call it a day, but I’m glad I picked it up because it went a bit better after that.

My other problem is how this is FULL of bad sex, and when I say full I mean almost every chapter of the second half. And by bad I mean very descriptive but also if we were to do it irl how they did it in the book, it would be very uncomfortable. Not to mention that the male main character is a virgin who literally doesn’t even know what sex is but his first time, he is like a sex god and suddenly knows everything. So so bad. I want to take this opportunity to send a message to authors that WE WANT REALISTIC SEX SCENES in all of their messy and clumsy glory!!

This is the conclusion to the story and although I had a problem with the book and am only now starting to realize how this is not really a good quality series, I still enjoyed the ending. It was a good and wholesome conclusion. That being said I don’t think I’ll be picking up Laura Thalassa’s books in the near future, and will definitely retire from reading these types of sex-based romances. Sex is not enough, I need some depth to the story.

One last thing, we need to banish half-naked models on the book covers to the pits of Hell. So tacky!

As always, if you’ve read this book tell me your opinions down below. And if you liked this, don’t be mad at me, this is just my opinion. Happy reading!

Want to support me?

– Check out my Book Depository wishlist

– Check out my Amazon wishlist

– Support me on Ko-fi

One thought on “Book Review: Death by Laura Thalassa

Leave a comment