2022 · dystopia · science fiction

Book Review: The Rose by P.D. Alleva

Thanks to the author for providing me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own. 


Title: The Rose (Vol. 1)

Author: P.D. Alleva

Purchase on Amazon

Description:

A masterful, dystopian science fiction thriller of, telepathic evil greys, mysterious rebellion, martial arts, and Alien Vampires.

Sandy Cox believed WWIII was over. But for those Alien Vampires, War Has Just Begun.

Forty-eight hours after a World War III treaty is signed, Sandy Cox awakens in an underground compound unable to move. Tied to machines she screams for help but no one answers. At least no one human.

And they’ve taken her unborn child.

Phil is a rebel freedom fighter who has had more than his share of Alien Vampires. Armed with THE BLADES, a sacred alien martial art, he enters the compound on a mission to find Sandy. But as he battles through the compound, Phil discovers Sandy has her own agenda. Finding her stolen child is all that matters.

But the vampires have their own plan and Sandy’s baby is at the heart of their diabolical plot. Joined by a crew of rogue soldiers, they must navigate the underground compound, battling genetically mutated humans, aliens and monsters.

When battling Alien Vampires, one thing is certain…Get Ready To Bleed!

Fans of The Hunger Games, George RR Martin, VE Schwab, Star Wars, and Ancient Aliens will be fascinated by this high-powered, intelligent, edge of your seat dystopian sci-fi action thriller.

RATING

Rating: 4 out of 5.

As you may or may not know, sci-fi is not my favorite genre. I am a fantasy (and romance) lover, however, I decided to give this book a go and I’m glad I did because I really liked it.

This book follows a group of people, one of which is Sydney who is pregnant, who have just survived the war. However, what they are about to find out is far worse than the war. Alien vampires who have come to the Earth with the intention of stealing human children and making humans their food. But not everything will go their way as one of the humans, Phil, is determined to fight them and save Sydney.

This book was fast paced and action packed, starting out from the very beginning. It’s an interesting and quite unique read, even for readers who are more familiar wit sci-fi. This is the first time I’ve come across alien vampires and I must admit, they are terrifying.

I found the book interesting due to it’s fast pace and overall story. However, I did ave a problem wit remembering all the characters’ names and recognizing them from one another. There is a lot of characters, both human and alien ones (which sounded especially similar to me), but even though I had that problem, I was able to understand everything in the end.

To summarize, this was a very interesting sci-fi dystopia and I enjoyed it. It’s a good start to the series and I’m curious to see how the story will progress.

Want to support me?

– Check out my Book Depository wishlist

– Check out my Amazon wishlist

– Support me on Ko-fi

3 thoughts on “Book Review: The Rose by P.D. Alleva

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s